Just a moment during a storm

Imagine a small tree that has survived a hurricane, but in the process of trying to hold stead to the roots it is loosing branches. . .leaves. . .colors. . .I am that little tree struggling to hold on as the eye of the storm passes right now.

Tick. . .tock. . .tick. . .tock.

Oh, clock slow down so I can catch my breath.

“Zzzzz. . .zzzzz. . .zzzzz”

Oh, phone stop reminding me I have text messages waiting.

Beautiful Detroit Tiger blue jacket, jump off that chair and hide yourself in my laundry. . .I don’t want to be reminded that this internship is stealing me away from a spring break with my closest friends.

USF deadline e-mail, please hide in my spam folder until I’m ready to finish sending in my packet. . .oh, and packet, hop into my backpack until I’m ready to go straighten you up.

Oh, cloud of ecstasy (also known as Bed), don’t tempt me to go to bed before 9:30 p.m.  I always give in when you whisper my name after a long first half of the week.  Oh, there you go looking so charming.

Tonight I am anti-social and exhausted.  I have deactivated my Facebook.  I have now just silenced my phone.  I am taking a “Just for me” night. I have had a terrible week, but let’s be real, you don’t want to hear about my problems.  You have your own.  We all do.  I won’t burden anyone but my God with my worries, because let’s face it my problems may be minuscule compared to yours.  And, like Bella says, “This is just a moment in time.”

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

