Keep Breathing

Today we learned that one of our classmates, James Helm, passed away.  He was an older guy, but amiable to say the least.  Details are still unclear. . .but, it just hit me. . .

One afternoon during the Spring ’10 semester I was crying on the Communication Department’s steps because I was overwhelmed with my position as Sports Editor because to that point I had written about 99.9% of all articles for the section of our college newspaper Southern.  He sat down, and I’m not very approachable when I’m upset, and gave me one of the most encouraging pep talks ever.  For that I will be forever grateful.  Thank you, James.

When I came home this afternoon to grab my camera to head to a women’s basketball game to take photographs, Ingrid Michaelson’s “Keep Breathing” was the first song Pandora selected.  It was perfect. . .

The storm is coming but I don’t mind.
People are dying, I close my blinds.
All that i know is I’m breathing now.

I want to change the world…instead I sleep.
I want to believe in more than you and me.

But all that I know is I’m breathing.
All I can do is keep breathing.
All we can do is keep breathing now.

Now, I’m off to the women’s basketball game to take photos because all I can do is keep breathing. . .

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

