Reverb 10 Challenge (19) – Healing

What healed you this year? Was it sudden, or a drip-by-drip evolution? How would you like to be healed in 2011?

Whoa. . .I didn’t know I was sick. . .

I suppose metaphorically. . .both my family and the familia healed me. . .along with engulfing myself in work and pushing myself past my limits and breaking down one night and just crying out every bit of hurt caused by painful memories. . .oh, wait. . .that’s what you mean by healing.

In that case. . .it came down like a slap of cold water, first thing in the morning, on my face before I even had a chance to open my eyes.

I kept so many tears from streaming down my face. . .from words escaping my lips. . .from slaps flailing at a few faces. . .at the end of the day. . .it stopped me from releasing all negative feelings I kept deep down.  Then, one day, I let it all go.  I can’t even remember what pushed me over the edge, but I walked home from campus (I live just a block away), threw my bag on my sofa, fell onto my bed and cried. . .cried. . .cried. . .cried. . .and threw a few pillows around (accidentally broke my favorite frame). . .then walked into the bathroom and looked at myself in the mirror. . .glazed eyes, red nose, pink cheeks with rivers of tears flowing. . .and knew it was over.  It was all released.   I was healed.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

