Reverb Challenge 10 (5) – Let Go

What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?

Pain.

I know we have all had our fair sure of pain caused by family. . .friends. . .strangers. . .even ourselves.  I’ve always carried the pain caused by each of those. . .and more. . .like my silent badge of courage.  I always felt like I need to remember the slap of words. . .the sting of slaps. . .the stabs of stares. . .all because I felt like if I forgot the pain then it would be like forgetting where I’ve been and how I’ve survived.

I now know that I don’t need to keep reliving pain by touching the scar so that it never heals. . .but that I needed to let it heal and occasionally glance at the scar. . .then that would be my reminder.

I learned to let go of the pain because tears definitely don’t make me look pretty.

I’m proud of the scars in my soul. They remind me that I have an intense life. – Paulo Coelho

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

