Too Beautiful For A Break-Up

So this is how it ends
This is where it all goes down
This is what “I don’t love you” feels like

It ain’t the middle of the night
And it ain’t even raining outside
It ain’t exactly what I had in mind
For goodbye

At a red light in the sunshine
On a Sunday
Nothin’ to say
Don’t even try

It’s been exactly – yes, even down to the minute – five days since everything happened.  I haven’t had much time to just sit down and think about what’s happened.  Well, I have thought about it, but not on my own.  I have been reminded about our relationship at red lights, while getting into my car, while watching a YouTube video about a father-daughter duo, and even at what was once my haven – the baseball stadium.

But want to know the worst part?

Florida has been absolutely beautiful this week.  Yes, the temperature has flirted with the 90-degree line, but it has been absolutely picturesque.  Grass is plush and green.  The sky is a pale blue that turns into an orange-rose sunset.  It’s perfect Florida.

I can’t escape, but it’s all a part of process, right?  Yeah, so what if he was my best friend for five years and stayed with me through the worst times in my life?  And, so what if he knew everything about me?  Oh, and so what if he was all that was there with me when it felt like not even family was there?  I know it’ll all get better, right?

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

